2009 You Tube Video Picks

This year I didn’t spend time like years past (2008 & 2007 ) looking at endless videos.

Things have changed, You Tube has changed. The creativity and interest, for the most part, has transformed to the quick, silly and popular. Creativity has given way to more sophisticated technology and the interesting or even daring has taken on more professional tones.

None of those are necessarily bad things, just often redundant and lacking a certain uniqueness and innocence only those engaged in the creative process are able to captures with the limited tools that are available. In other words they aren’t always perfect or very shiny, but usually full of heart.

In the mix this year there were a few gems floating around that I really appreciated, and I thought this year I would be more thoughtful in why I liked a number of them rather than just plopping them up on this blog to click and play.

I’ve toyed with posting the best of some pretty good vlog arguments; socially, philosophically and politically, but there are so many that I would be hard pressed to chose the best of the best and since I’m fairly good at posting them on this blog post haste… if you are interested feel free to click above and browse through the archives or topics on the main page (click above)

In the mean time, here it it!  A short list of some of my favorite finds.  All of them, to a certain degree, are intentional and for the most part happy accidents or discoveries. I hope you enjoy them.

BTW if you have your own favorites share the link in the comments, I and those who read this blog will enjoy watching all your picks.

Happy New Year!

Top Of The List
Even though this video is pretty old; it wasn’t uploaded until 2009 – I picked this as my most favorite this year, in part, because the king of pop is dead; though I must confess I was never a big Michael Jackson fan, honestly, I don’t own one of his cds and never even bothered to see Thriller, but after his passing I was surprised by how many people I discovered were huge fans. Just the sound of one of his tunes seemed to make most people smile or start to dance and move smooth; of course, that could actually be the Quincy Jones effect, regardless, and all bad jokes aside, this particular video seems to represent perhaps, a little of whatever MJ had inside him that is inside us all.

I chose this particular video, not because the guy is a great MJ impersonator or even a good dancer demonstrating all the right moves, what struck me most is the effect the story behind the video has on people who watch it. It’s like finding a little bottle of joy.

First, there are two ways to view this video:
1. watch it like any other video, then read the story, then watch it again.
2. read the story, then watch the video.
my suggestion, go with #1.

The Story
From YouTuber livejamie – from the You Tube sidebar:

“This video was posted to YouTube and Vimeo but deleted after it reached the reddit homepage, I’ve merely mirrored it here.

Cedelman1 commented on Guy dancing like Michael Ja… (2 weeks ago) “Thank you! I had a blast putting it all together~ I just hope I see him again so I can give him a copy.

Cedelman1 commented on Guy dancing like Michael Ja… (2 months ago) “Nope, not staged & not danny oliver– just a guy… I filmed him over a 15-month period as he waited for the bus. He always made my day :)”

Cedelman1 uploaded a new video (2 months ago) I love this guy. He used to wait for the bus outside my office window and was quite entertaining. He hasn’t been around for a couple years, so I hope this video finds him some day :)”

.
.
.
Minimalism – Kinetic Typography Poem

I chose this video because it encompasses all creativity, everything starts with a dot. It is the first move, the actual commitment to create. What I also found fascinating was how it was so cleverly put together and on the fly by the author Azrienoch. He said he was playing around with some new software (AfterEffects) and this is what happen. A very happy and creative discovery. Second year Azrienoch made my year end list.

.
.
.

Almost forgot! we came we saw we kicked its ass

.
.
.
girl in the machine

Another old video not uploaded until 2009 – Curiosity got the better of this tike, and through the whole thing, no doubt, worried and probably angered her caregivers, I couldn’t help, but wonder what was going through her mind as she decided, like Alice, to crawl inside the hole and make her way through to the other side. In a Siegfried like moment she turns away from the cries of her mother and climbs on top of the many plush and stuffed animals, she situates herself, stretches out and experiences a brief moment of complete bliss. Her thoughts never seem to be with taking any of the toy prizes, but just wanting to know what it’s like to be on the other side of the glass. One security cam happy accident.

.
.
.
Halloween Math Class

a teacher who goes the extra mile and one you’ll never forget.

.
.
.
sit back, relax and have a good time

have to wonder if the pantie-bomber would have had second thoughts if this attendant was on his flight.

.
.
.
sunny with a slight chance of cats

ich möchte in diesem land leben

.
.
.

Worthwhile, Funny, Honorable Mentions and Channel Of The Year Videos

books

.
.
somalia vacation

.
.
the shower

.
.
sudan movie baby

.
.
b-roll

.
.
utter fraud

.
.
flight info

.
.
pepi

.
.
now

.
.
the subtle humor of the understated

.
.
The Best Trilogy
big ass rental

good ass bbq and foot message

cheap ass legal and day care

.
.
drum roll…
how 2009 felt and channel of the year

4 Comments

Filed under art, film, serendipity, video

4 responses to “2009 You Tube Video Picks

  1. Roma Buxton

    Thanks for this cool post. Anyway i found your blog on google and find it very useful. I’ll be sure to come back again for more!

  2. Ray Job

    Saw your blog bookmarked on Digg.

  3. Anonymous

    Nice blog. Iam folowing you from my mobile rss reader.

  4. Pingback: 2010 You Tube Video Picks | "No doubt about it- that nut's a genius"

Leave a Reply

